GOP claims control of Alaska Senate

Nov 07, 2012 -- 5:05pm


- ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) - Republicans are claiming control of the Alaska Senate, with a new leadership structure announced on Wednesday. Sen. Charlie Huggins of Wasilla will be Senate president and John Coghill of North Pole will be majority leader. Sen. Kevin Meyer of Anchorage and Pete Kelly of Fairbanks will be co-chairs of the powerful Senate Finance Committee. Kelly was leading Democratic Sen. Paskvan in results from Tuesday's election. The group has 11 Republicans, and Coghill says it is looking to grow its ranks. Absent from the group are Republican Sens. Bert Stedman and Gary Stevens, who have been more moderate voices.

Return to: KFQD News Blog

Breaking News


Copyright © KFQD AM/FM. All Rights Reserved. Internet Development by Triton Digital Media.