UAF winds 4th straight Governor's Cup

Mar 03, 2013 -- 11:30am


 ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) - The University of Alaska Fairbanks Nanooks are Alaska's collegiate hockey champions again. Right winger Andy Taranto scored two goals Saturday night and the Nanooks defeated the University of Alaska Anchorage 3-1 at the Sullivan Arena in Anchorage. UAF defeated UAA 2-1 on Friday night in Fairbanks. The two games decide who will hold the Governor's Cup for a year. The Nanooks have won the cup four consecutive years. Colton Beck started the scoring with a goal just nine seconds into the game. Taranto scored with 2.5 seconds left in the first period for a 2-0 Nanook lead. He scored again six minutes into the second period. The Anchorage Daily News reports Bobby Murphy answered for the Seawolves 31 seconds later that that was the only goal UAA could muster.

Return to: KFQD News Blog

Breaking News


Copyright © KFQD AM/FM. All Rights Reserved. Internet Development by Triton Digital Media.