Weather Alert

Alaska lawmakers confirm attorney general, department heads

Alaska Attorney General Treg Taylor, foreground, appears before the House Judiciary Committee for a confirmation hearing on Monday, March 15, 2021, in Juneau, Alaska. Republican Rep. Christopher Kurka, a committee member, is seen in the background. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer)

By BECKY BOHRER Associated Press
JUNEAU, Alaska (AP) — The Alaska Legislature has confirmed Attorney General Treg Taylor and other members of Gov. Mike Dunleavy’s Cabinet. Taylor was the only Cabinet-level appointment up for confirmation Tuesday who generated debate among lawmakers. Some Democrats raised concerns with Taylor’s handling of a waiver under state ethics law for former Dunleavy chief of staff Ben Stevens, who resigned earlier this year to work for ConocoPhillips. As for other Cabinet members, James “Jim” Cockrell was confirmed as Department of Public Safety commissioner, and Lucinda Mahoney was confirmed as Department of Revenue commissioner. Mahoney was appointed commissioner last year but lawmakers did not meet to consider appointments.


Connect With Us Listen To Us On